Alpine Hut Pralongià in Alta Badia features long hospitality traditions and is now run by the third generation of the Pescollderungg-Niederkofler family. Its history began in the late 20s when the Pescollderungg family owned one of the first hotels in Alta Badia – the Hotel Dolomiti in La Villa. Three of the 17 children, Konrad, Siegfried and Peter, often accompanied the Hotel’s guests on various ski tours. Already at that time “Prà lunc” (the long meadows) were one of the brothers’ favourite sites because of the stunning beauty of the surrounding landscapes. Willing to offer a better service to their clients, they decided in 1932 to build on the meadows of Pralongià a small mountain hut with a couple of rooms for overnight stay and a small dining room (during the first years all food was brought up from the Dolomiti Hotel). After the Second World War Konrad remained alone to run the mountain hut, but faced the challenge with the utmost determination and commitment. The first chairlift reached Pralongià in 1959. And in 1977 was erected the nearby chapel, dedicated to St. Antonio, in memory of Konrad’s wife Antonia, who died a couple of years earlier.